Wednesday, June 4, 2014

News: (Toronto) Dora Award Nominations (report)

Tarragon, AtG, YPT score big at Dora Nominations announcement
by Beat Rice

The nominees for the 35th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards were announced. On June 23rd at the West Jet stage at Harbourfront Centre, nominees from six divisions and 48 categories, along with many colleagues from the performing arts in Toronto, will gather for an outdoor awards ceremony. 

Tarragon Theatre leads the way with an astounding 19 nominations. It looks like Tarragon has truly invested in strong directors and plays in the past season. Soulpepper comes in second with 14 nominations, 5 of which honour individual actors. Buddies in Bad Times also snags six nominations is various categories.

Camellia Koo and Lorenzo Savoini are (hilariously) the only two candidates in the General Theatre’s Scenic Design category, with their consistently impressive designs. 

In the Independent Theatre Division the well received, unconventional Vitals, presented by Outside the March receives five nominations, as well as UnSpun Theatre’s The Tin Drum, and Videocabaret’s Trudeau and the FLQ.

Les Miserables and London Road lead the way in the Musical Theatre Divisions with several nominations in the performance categories. The Canadian Opera Company has garnered 16 nominations, a few of which overlap in the Musical Theatre Division. Against the Grain also scored nominations for the first time picking up 7 in the opera division for Figaro's Wedding.

Young People’s Theatre receives 16 nominations in total with three overlapping in the Musical Theatre Division.

It is clear, from this year’s nominees, that some companies are consistently putting together stellar teams to create unforgettable productions.

Also announced today are the recipients of the biennial Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award, given to an individual who has been an advocate and ambassador for the Arts in Canada, the Pauline McGibbon Award, presented to an emerging member of the professional theatre community, and The Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award, awarded to an individual who has displayed excellence in arts administration. The recipient is: David S. Craig, for his contribution and advocacy in theatre for young audiences and working rights for artists. The Pauline McGibbon Award goes to designer Kathryn McCallum. And the LMJH Award went to Meredith Potter, who works with several performing arts companies.

For the full list of nominations click here 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated. Please read our guidelines for posting comments.